Borneensis earless monitor lizard (Lanthanotus borneensis)

The earless monitor lizard Lanthanotus borneensis was described scientifically by Franz Steindachner, a well-known Austrian zoologist (1834-1919) from Vienna in 1877.

Profound knowledge about the life conditions or keeping of the earless monitor lizard had been unknown for a long time. Moreover, little information on the breeding behaviour or even about the raising of young animals has not been available thus far. Reports on their keeping have not been published until now or are limited to older individual reports (Mertens R., 1964).

Lanthanotus has been repeatedly imported to the USA and Europe in isolated cases since the sixties of the last century (Klemmer K., 1971; Mendyk R., et. al. 2015). The ‘Lanthanotus borneensis’ has been registered in the applicable CITES-convention in Addendum II now.

For many years, a small group of herpetologists in the USA and Europe has however been engaged with the mysterious reptile being appropriate for committed experts only, who has been breeding these animals subsequent to initially great differences with regard to their keeping, feeding, incubation and upbringing over a period of several generations now. Experiences in bits and pieces were collected over time that now enables to exchange the observations made with other interested parties in recent years.

  
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzinformationen

Borneo Taubwaran (Lanthanotus borneensis)

Der Taubwaran Lanthanotus borneensis wurde 1877 von Franz Steindachner einem bekannten österreichischen Zoologen (1834-1919) aus Wien wissenschaftlich beschrieben.

Tiefgreifende Kenntnisse über die Lebensumstände oder die Haltung des Taubwarans waren lange Zeit nicht bekannt. Auch liegen bisher kaum Informationen über das Fortpflanzungsverhalten oder gar über die Aufzucht der Jungtiere vor. Haltungsberichte wurden bisher nicht veröffentlicht oder beschränken sich auf ältere Einzelberichte (Mertens R., 1964).

Lanthanotus wird seit den sechsziger Jahren des vorigen Jahrhunderts immer wieder vereinzelt nach den USA und Europa eingeführt (Klemmer, K. 1971; Mendyk, R. et.al. 2015). In die geltende CITES -Konvention ist jetzt " Lanthanotus borneensis" in Anhang II aufgenommen worden.

Eine kleine Gruppe von Herpetologen in den USA und Europa, beschäftigt sich jedoch seit vielen Jahren mit dem mystischen, nur für  engagierte Spezialisten geeigneten Reptil und züchtet die Tiere, nach anfänglichen großen Schwierigkeiten bei der Haltung, Fütterung, Inkubation und Aufzucht nunmehr über mehrere Generationen. Über die Zeit wurde ein Puzzle an Erfahrungen  zusammengetragen, was es nunmehr erlaubt, die über Jahre gemachten  Beobachtungen mit anderen Interessierten zu teilen.

  
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzinformationen